URGENT: Decreased Research Density Effective December 24

December 18, 2020

Dear Research Community:

As you know, the Bay Area is experiencing a dramatic increase in COVID-19 infections, with intensive care units in local hospitals rapidly approaching full capacity, and the City and County implementing a 10-day quarantine for travelers. It is generally anticipated that the coming holiday season will exacerbate these problems.

The Office of Research actively monitors infection rates and numerous other metrics to inform recommendations to Chancellor Sam Hawgood regarding the density of our research staff. Several factors, including rising infections rates at UCSF and severely declining ICU capacity, have now made it clear that the health of our workforce and need to protect hospital capacity requires a reduction in our density.

The Chancellor’s Executive Team (CET) has approved the following changes effective December 24 at 12:01 a.m.

  1. Laboratory research density will be reduced from the current 50% to 25%. LARC operations will continue unabated, and there is no need to reduce animal census.
  1. Clinical research that is not essential to the health of the participant (termed Category 3 research) will be reduced from the current 25% to 12.5%. It is strongly recommended that research-only onsite visits (i.e., conducted without a concomitant clinical visit) be postponed. COVID-19 clinical research and clinical research determined to be essential to the health and/or well-being of the participant can continue without restriction.

These reductions in density will be in place until January 4, 2021, at which point they will be reassessed and may be extended. We will continue to monitor the situation closely and communicate updates to the research community.

I greatly appreciate your commitment to safely conducting our research activities during this pandemic, and I extend my sincere wishes for your health and well-being in these challenging times.



Lindsey A. Criswell, MD, MPH, DSc
Vice Chancellor of Research
Professor of Medicine and Orofacial Sciences